The Nebraska Community Energy Alliance (NCEA) was founded in June, 2014, by nine Nebraska communities: South Sioux City, Wayne, Central City, Bellevue, Nebraska City, Seward, Holdrege, Lexington and Gothenburg to sponsor its first Nebraska Environmental Trust (NET) grant of $403,000 to purchase electric and compressed natural gas vehicles and ChargePoint™ charging stations to demonstrate the economic and air quality benefits. Each participating community contributed fifty percent in local match for a total project worth approximately $800,000.

Today, NCEA is 29 members and growing, adding to the founding nine communities Dakota County, Allen Consolidated Schools, Valley, Omaha Public Power District, the Metropolitan Area Planning Agency (MPO), Metro Community College, UNO Center for Urban Sustainability, UNL Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction at Peter Kiewit Institute, Gretna, Ashland, Lincoln (MPO), Lincoln Electric System, Hastings, Kearney, Superior, Minden, and Cozad.

NCEA has won two grants this year to the NET, the first for community-based solar power at Central City and Gothenburg totaling $349,000, and the second for 11 electric vehicles, 5 compressed natural gas vehicles, 21 ChargePoint™charging stations at 19 locations totaling $490,030."

NCEA is an inter-local cooperative agency.

Download the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement (pdf).

If you are interested in membership, click here.

Meet the Members

Lincoln - Frank Uhlarik, Lincoln Sustainability Coordinator and NCEA Chair

Ashland - Jessica Quady, Ashland City Administrator and NCEA Treasurer

Bellevue - Larry Burks, Bellevue Assistant City Administrator and NCEA Secretary

Metropolitan Area Planning Agency - Greg Youell, Executive Director

South Sioux City - Lance Hedquist, South Sioux City Administrator

Wayne - Wes Bleche, Wayne City Administrator

Dakota County - Bill Rohde, Dakota County Commissioner

Allan Consolidated Schools - Mike Pattee, Superintendent

Central City - Chris Anderson, CC Administrator

Valley - Shawn Isom, Valley Assistant City Administrator

Metro Community College - Sarah Murray, Sustainability Coordinator

UNO Center for Urban Sustainability - Tim Hemsath

Omaha Public Power District - Laurie Zagurski, Manager of Community Outreach

UNL Durham School - Dr. Moe Alahmad, Research Lead

Gretna - Jeff Kooistra, Gretna City Administrator

Nebraska City - Leroy Frana, NC Utilities Director

Seward - Greg Butcher, Seward City Administrator

Hastings - Joe Patterson, Hastings City Administrator

Kearney - Paul Briseno, Kearney Assistant City Manager

Holdrege - Bob Rager, Holdrege City Administrator

Lexington - Joe Pepplitsch, Lexington City Manager

Gothenburg - Bruce Clymer, Gothenburg City Administrator

Superior - Larry Brittenham, Public Works Director

Minden - Matthew Cederburg, City Administrator

Cozad - Susan Kloepping, City Clerk 

Fremont - Lottie Mitchell, Grants Coordinator

Grand Island - Marlan Ferguson, City Administrator

North Platte - Jim Hawks, City Administrator

Aurora - Rick Melcher, City Administrator

Dennis Burnside, assistant city manager, City of Lexington


Bob Rager, City Administrator of Holdrege. ChargePoint CT 4021 Dual Bollard electric vehicle charging station

Bob Rager, City Administrator of Holdrege. ChargePoint CT 4021 Dual Bollard electric vehicle charging station

Adam ciochetto of woodhouse nissan & Joan Spencer, County Clerk, Dakota County